Intellectual Networks

Scholars’ Libraries of the Early Modern Period as Loci of Knowledge and Communication

 

The library of an early modern scholar was a place of creative activity, everyday reading and writing, collecting data and excerpting from books and files, observing nature and conducting philological research. The texts and letters of theologians and physicians, philosophers and lawyers originated in and with their libraries, where knowledge was acquired and communication took place. Thus scholars’ libraries and their provenances are valuable sources for the history of knowledge, ideas, books and persons.

At the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel a two-folded project focuses on the scholars Leonhard Christoph Sturm (1669–1719) and Johann Gottfried Lakemacher (1695–1736).

Leonhard Christoph Sturm

Sturm was an architectural theorist, an active participant in theological debate, and a professor of mathematics and architecture at higher education institutions, including the Ritterakademie Rudolph-Antoniana in Wolfenbüttel. By examining his private library and heterogeneous sources and media associated with Sturm – such as letters, machine drawings, books borrowed from the ducal library, invoices, service correspondence, lecture protocols and quotations – the project investigates the interactions between the holdings of both his own and the ducal book collections as well as Sturm’s literary and practical output.

The project’s main focus is the network of knowledge and scholarship which connected Sturm to his contemporaries and within which he was active. Digital Humanities methodologies are used to produce a survey of Leonhard Christoph Sturm’s intellectual sphere. It is hoped that this approach will stimulate and advance further research into semantic determination and the reconstruction of heterogeneous collections.

Johann Gottfried Lakemacher

Lakemacher is regarded as the typical Helmstedt professor. His library is the embodiment of a book collection assembled by a contemporary professor and scholar. The project aims to answer questions arising from the sale of Lakemacher’s books (approx. 2,000 bibliographic units in approx. 3,000 volumes). The collection’s history is characterized by its owner’s death and the resulting independent life of his books, thereafter circulating among new owners. The project thus focuses on scholarly book ownership and the destinies of individual books in the context of the University of Helmstedt.

The auction catalogue and sales protocol, both of which have come down to us, are a primary object of investigation, offering access to sales procedures and individual fates of books. The dynamics of private book ownership – the acquisition and dissolution of a book collection – serve as a data repository on the basis of which normative rules and social, economic and intellectual factors can be calculated, collated and visualized with the aid of digital methods.

Project phase 1: „Writers‘ Libraries: Materiality – Orders of Knowledge – Performance“

The current project is furthering research carried out under the Writers’ Libraries: Materiality – Orders of Knowledge – Performance framework, a project successfully completed in the first funding phase. This first phase explored early modern scholars‘ libraries as sources for book, knowledge and personal history, using c. 450 17th- and 18th-century Dutch and other auction catalogues which are held in the HAB collections. The project intended to reach a better understanding of breaks and continuities in scholarly biographies, business cycles in the book market, the history of knowledge, and natural philosophical and philological cultures. Special attention was given to the development of the library of the German exile, chiliast and mathematician Benedikt Bahnsen.

Research Project

Intellektuelle Netzwerke

Frühneuzeitliche Gelehrtenbibliotheken als Wissens- und Kommunikationsräume

 

Die Bibliothek eines frühneuzeitlichen Gelehrten war ein Ort kreativer Tätigkeit, des alltäglichen Lesens und Schreibens, des Sammelns und Exzerpierens, der Naturbeobachtung und der philologischen Forschung. Die Texte und Briefe von Theologen und Medizinern, Philosophen und Juristen entstanden in und mit ihren Bibliotheken, hier wurde Erkenntnis erarbeitet, von hier aus wurde kommuniziert. Somit sind Gelehrtenbibliotheken und ihre Provenienzen wertvolle Quellen für die Wissens-, Ideen-, Buch- und Personengeschichte.

An der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel geht es im Rahmen des (zweigeteilten) Teilprojektes um die Gelehrten Leonhard Christoph Sturm (1669–1719) und Johann Gottfried Lakemacher (1695–1736).

Leonhard Christoph Sturm

Sturm war Architekturtheoretiker, aktiver Teilnehmer am theologischen Diskurs und Professor für Mathematik und Baukunst an höheren Bildungseinrichtungen, u.a. an der Ritterakademie Rudolph-Antoniana in Wolfenbüttel. Mit der Untersuchung seiner Bibliothek und heterogener, mit ihm in Zusammenhang stehender Quellen und Medien (Briefe, Maschinenzeichnungen, Buchausleihen aus der herzoglichen Bibliothek, Rechnungen, Dienstkorrespondenz, Vorlesungsprotokolle, Zitate) fragt das Projekt nach den Wechselwirkungen zwischen dem sammlungsähnlichen Materialbestand und dem schriftstellerischen wie praktischen Output Sturms.

Es wird das Netzwerk des Wissens und der Gelehrsamkeit rekonstruiert, in dem Sturm agierte und das ihn mit den Zeitgenossen verband. Die Vermessung des Wissenskosmos von Leonhard Christoph Sturm erfolgt mit Methoden der Digital Humanities, wobei Impulse für die Erforschung einer Semantikbestimmung und Rekonstruktion von heterogenen Sammlungen erwartet werden.

Johann Gottfried Lakemacher

Lakemacher gilt als typischer Vertreter der Helmstedter Professorenschaft. Seine Bibliothek steht repräsentativ für die Büchersammlung eines zeitgenössischen Professors und Gelehrten. Die sich aus dem Verkauf der Bücher Lakemachers (ca. 2.000 bibliographische Einheiten in ca. 3.000 Bänden) ergebenden Fragen und Erkenntnisse stehen im Mittelpunkt. Denn die Dynamik der Sammlung manifestiert sich im Ableben des Besitzers, im dadurch hervortretenden Eigenleben der Bücher, d.h. ihrer erneuten Zirkulation und Wanderschaft, nämlich zu neuen Besitzern.

So sollen die Bedingungen professoralen Bücherbesitzes im Umfeld der Universität Helmstedt und die Wanderwege von Büchern erforscht werden. Der überlieferte durchschossene Auktionskatalog, inkl. Verkaufsprotokoll, dient als primärer Untersuchungsgegenstand, da er Zugang zum Verkaufsablauf und zu den Schicksalen der Bücher gewährt. Die Praktik des Erwerbs und die Auflösung der Büchersammlung, also die Dynamik privaten Bücherbesitzes, dienen als Datenrepositorium, anhand dessen mit Hilfe digitaler Methoden normative Regeln und soziale, ökonomische und intellektuelle Faktoren aufgeschlüsselt, kollationiert und visualisiert werden.

Projektphase 1: „Autorenbibliotheken: Materialität – Wissensordnung – Performanz“

Das Projekt führt die Untersuchungen fort, die im Rahmen des in der ersten Förderphase erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Forschungsprojekts Autorenbibliotheken: Materialität – Wissensordnung – Performanz durchgeführt wurden. Dabei waren private Gelehrtenbibliotheken der Frühen Neuzeit als Quellen der Wissens-, Buch- und Personengeschichte Forschungsgegenstand. Im Fokus standen ca. 450 niederländische und andere Auktionskataloge aus dem 17. und 18. Jahrhundert, die sich in den Sammlungen der Herzog August Bibliothek Herzog August Bibliothek befinden. Das Erkenntnisinteresse galt den Brüchen und Konstanten in der Wissensgeschichte, den Konjunkturen des Buchmarktes, Gelehrtenbiographien sowie naturphilosophischen und philologischen Tatsachenkulturen. Besonderer Fokus lag auf der Erschließung der Bibliothek des deutschen Exilanten, Chiliasten und Rechenmeisters Benedikt Bahnsen. Die Erforschung der Büchersammlung von Leonhard Christoph Sturm wurde vorbereitet.

Mitarbeiterinnen & Mitarbeiter