ENDE

Endterm-Tagung

- Call for Papers -

Is Digital Better? Collection Research in the Digital Age

16-17 February 2023
Klassik Stiftung Weimar

The DLA Marbach (German Literature Archive Marbach), the Klassik Stiftung Weimar and the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel are home to over 500 years of German and European cultural history. In 2013, these institutions joined forces to form the MWW Research Association, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. From the start, the MWW has been involved in digital collection research and since 2019, there has been a focus on the targeted development of needs-oriented digital services and model solutions.

After ten years of successful cooperation, in February 2024, the association will conclude its second phase of funding. The MWW will use this milestone as an opportunity to look to the future together and also to reflect on the significance of digitalisation for cataloguing, researching and presenting culturally and historically important objects, and their contextualisation in collections.

Cultural institutions, museums, libraries and archives have the task of permanently preserving their holdings and cataloguing them in line with contemporary standards in order to expand and deepen our understanding of these historical archives and physical and digital collections, and to share these collections and the knowledge gained from them with diverse audiences. Digital methods, tools and applications play an increasingly important role in this process, especially as cultural institutions are currently undergoing a rapid process of digital transformation, which has recently been accelerated by the Corona pandemic. Against this backdrop, the conference Is Digital Better? Collection Research in the Digital Age aims to stimulate interdisciplinary dialogue about the aims, effects, possibilities and limitations of the digital research on and display of such collections. Submissions should be related to one or both of the following themes:

 

Reflections

  • How has digital collection research developed over the last ten years? Which changes have fundamentally transformed the field? For example, how has it been influenced by the recommendations of the German Council for Scientific Information Infrastructures (RfII) on a national level? And how has digital collection research been impacted by the work of the Resource Description and Access Steering Committee (RSC) on an international level? Which trends have not caught on and why?
  • How can digitalisation support and expand the quest for knowledge, or even inspire new ways of thinking and yield results that go beyond the capacities of conventional approaches, for example, by visualising different chronological periods, analysing vast amounts of data, digitally bringing together collections that are geographically separate, or opening up collections to which there is limited or no access?
  • Born-digital estates have already become part of archives and the collection of digital data is now a reality for cultural institutions. What kind of practical issues emerge in this context, for example, in terms of storage space, long-term storage space or dealing with born-digital estates?
  • How do digital tools and applications actually work? How are virtual exhibitions or virtual and augmented reality opportunities perceived by the research community and the general public?
  • What are the limitations of digital methods and approaches? In what ways can they not replace traditional hermeneutic approaches in the analogue world? How can we address the coexistence of traditional and digital methods?
  • What potential and limitations do commercial digital programmes and infrastructures present for institutions to research and present their cultural history collections?
  • What are the current challenges in digital collections research? What problems have not yet been solved?

 

Future Visions

  • What novel, experimental approaches and visions have emerged for the future of digital collection research?
  • How can desiderata be resolved? How do researchers envisage a digital utopia for the current decade?
  • What are the potential opportunities, and perhaps also the risks, of digital transformation for cultural institutions that manage collections?
  • What theoretical questions need to be addressed in digital collections research in relation to issues such as authenticity – in terms of the increasing use of AI applications and reconstructions, materiality, proximity and distance, or the digital duplication of the world? And conversely, how does research practice change our understanding of such concepts?
  • How future-proof and sustainable are digital projects, data sets and data storage media? How can sustainability be improved?
  • What are the effects of the increasingly standardised semantic indexing of collections (standardised data, vocabularies and ontologies)? How flexible are these classifications in terms of 'non-knowledge', new knowledge and ongoing revisions of the canon?

 

Speakers from all humanities and cultural studies disciplines are invited to apply, in particular those from institutions that manage collections. Please submit your abstract (max. 300 words) for a 20-minute talk by 15 September 2022. The conference will be held as a live event at the Klassik Stiftung Weimar from 16-17 February 2023. Conference languages are German and English.

The conference papers will be published at the end of 2023 as part of our ongoing collaboration with Wallstein Verlag and will also be made available as an open access publication on the MWW's publication platform (PoP). Invited speakers are kindly requested to provide a draft of their conference paper before the start of the conference. The deadline for submissions of final drafts is 15 May 2023. Travel and hotel costs for speakers will be covered by the organisers.

Contact

Dr. Katharina Günther
E-mail: katharina.guenther@mww-forschung.de

Stefan Alschner
E-Mail: stefan.alschner@klassik-stiftung.de

Florian Hellbach
E-mail: Florian.Hellbach@klassik-stiftung.de

 

Download CfP

ENDE

Endterm-Tagung

- Call for Papers -

Digital ist besser? Sammlungsforschung im digitalen Zeitalter

16. u. 17. Februar 2023
Klassik Stiftung Weimar

 

Im Deutschen Literaturarchiv Marbach, der Klassik Stiftung Weimar und der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel befindet sich mehr als ein halbes Jahrtausend deutscher und europäischer Kulturgeschichte. 2013 haben sich die Einrichtungen in einem vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Forschungsverbund (MWW) zusammengeschlossen. Von Beginn an beschäftigt den MWW die digitale Sammlungsforschung, die seit 2019 mit der gezielten Entwicklung bedarfsgerechter digitaler Angebote und Modelllösungen im Mittelpunkt steht. Nach zehn Jahren erfolgreicher Zusammenarbeit schließt der Verbund im Februar 2024 seine zweite Förderphase ab. Diese Zäsur soll genutzt werden, um über die Bedeutung des Digitalen für die Erschließung, Erforschung und Vermittlung kulturhistorischer Objekte und deren Kontextualisierung durch Sammlungszusammenhänge zu reflektieren und gemeinsam den Blick in die Zukunft zu richten.

Die Aufgabe von Kulturinstitutionen, Museen, Bibliotheken und Archiven ist es, ihre Bestände dauerhaft zu bewahren und nach zeitgemäßen Standards zu erfassen, das Wissen über ihre historisch gewachsenen, analogen und digitalen Sammlungen zu erweitern und zu vertiefen sowie diese Sammlungen und die darüber gewonnenen Erkenntnisse an ein vielfältiges Publikum zu vermitteln. Dabei spielen digitale Methoden, Werkzeuge und Anwendungen eine immer größere Rolle, zumal sich die Kulturinstitutionen gegenwärtig in einem rasanten Prozess der digitalen Transformation befinden, der durch die Corona-Pandemie unlängst noch beschleunigt wurde. Vor diesem Hintergrund möchte die Tagung »Digital ist besser? Sammlungsforschung im digitalen Zeitalter« einen interdisziplinären Dialog über Ziele, Wirkungsweisen, Potentiale und Grenzen der digitalen Sammlungsforschung und -präsentation anstoßen. Die Beiträge sollen in einem oder in beiden der folgenden Themenfelder angesiedelt sein:

Reflexion

  • Wie hat sich die digitale Sammlungsforschung in den letzten zehn Jahren entwickelt? Was waren Veränderungen, die das Feld grundlegend umgestaltet haben? Welche Auswirkungen haben beispielsweise die Empfehlungen des Rats für Informationsinfrastrukturen auf nationaler Ebene und die Arbeit des Standard Resource Description and Access Steering Committee auf internationalem Terrain? Welche Trends haben sich nicht durchgesetzt und warum?
  • Wo kann das Digitale das Erkenntnisstreben unterstützen, erweitern oder gar über die Kapazitäten eines analogen Ansatzes hinaus Denkanstöße liefern und Ergebnisse produzieren, beispielsweise durch die Visualisierung verschiedener Zeitschichten, die Analyse großer Datenmengen oder die digitale Zusammenführung geografisch getrennter Bestände, die nicht mehr, oder nur eingeschränkt zugänglich sind?
  • Die Nachlässe von born digitals sind längst in den Archiven angekommen und das Sammeln von rein digitalen Daten gehört heute zur Realität von Kulturinstitutionen. Welche praktischen Fragen beispielweise nach Speicherplatz, Langzeitarchivierung oder im Umgang mit born digital-Nachlässen stellen sich hier?
  • Was sind die Wirkungsweisen digitaler Tools und Anwendungen? Wie wirken virtuelle Ausstellungen bzw. Virtual- und Augmented-Reality-Angebote auf die Wissenschaft und das breite Publikum?
  • Was sind die Grenzen digitaler Methoden und Herangehensweisen, wo können sie klassische hermeneutische Verfahren der analogen Welt nicht ersetzen? Wie ist grundsätzlich das Mit- und Nebeneinander tradierter und digitaler Methoden zu denken?
  • Wo liegen die Potenziale und Grenzen der Nutzung kommerzieller digitaler Programme und Infrastrukturen für die Erforschung und Präsentation institutioneller kulturhistorischer Sammlungen?
  • Welche Herausforderungen gibt es aktuell in der digitalen Sammlungsforschung? Welche Probleme sind ungelöst?

Zukunftsvisionen

  • Was sind neuartige, experimentelle Ansätze und Zukunftsvisionen für die digitale Sammlungsforschung?
  • Wie können Desiderate aufgelöst werden? Was wünscht sich die Forschung als digitale Utopie für das kommende Jahrzehnt?
  • Wo liegen Potenziale, wo vielleicht auch Gefahren der digitalen Transformation für sammlungsführende Kulturinstitutionen?
  • Mit welchen theoretischen Fragen, etwa nach Authentizität – man denke an den zunehmenden Einsatz von KI-Anwendungen und -Rekonstruktionen, Materialität, Nähe und Distanz oder zur digitalen Verdopplung der Welt wird sich die digitale Sammlungsforschung vermehrt auseinandersetzen müssen? Wie verändert umgekehrt die Praxis der digitalen Sammlungsforschung unsere Auffassung dieser Begriffe?
  • Wie zukunftsfähig und nachhaltig sind digitale Datensätze, Datenträger und Projekte? Was lässt sich tun, um deren Nachhaltigkeit zu verbessern?
  • Welche Auswirkungen hat die zunehmend normierte semantische Erschließung des Sammlungsguts (Normdaten, Vokabulare, Ontologien)? Wie flexibel sind diese Klassifikationen mit Blick auf ›Nicht-Wissen‹, neues Wissen und die fortlaufende Revision des Kanons?

Eingeladen sind Vortragende aller geistes- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen, insbesondere auch aus sammlungsführenden Institutionen. Bitte reichen Sie bis zum 15. September 2022 ein Abstract von maximal 300 Wörtern für einen Beitrag von 20 Minuten ein. Die Konferenz findet vom 16.–17. Februar 2023 in Präsenz an der Klassik Stiftung Weimar statt.

Die Publikation der Beiträge in einem Tagungsband ist für Ende 2023 im Rahmen einer bestehenden Kooperation mit dem Wallstein Verlag sowie im Open Access auf der MWW-Publikationsplattform PoP geplant. Wir bitten die für einen Vortrag Eingeladenen, uns bis zum Datum der Konferenz einen Entwurf ihres Papers zuzusenden. Deadline für die Abgabe der Endfassung ist der 15. Mai 2023. Die Veranstalter übernehmen die Fahrt- und Hotelkosten der Sprecher*innen.

Kontakt

Dr. Katharina Günther
E-Mail:
katharina.guenther@mww-forschung.de

Florian Hellbach
E-Mail:
Florian.Hellbach@klassik-stiftung.de

 

CfP als Download